Board of Directors

Patra de Silva


Patra De Silva is a senior business executive with extensive experience in product development, manufacturing and marketing. She is the president of Natures Botanicals, a nutraceutical company which manufactures and markets dietary herbal supplements, pet remedies and natural personal care products. Being a student of Ayurveda, Patra is a strong proponent of a holistic lifestyle. She is an innovator in the pet industry and is the president of, a B to C e-commerce site for pet products.

Deirdre Campbell

Past President

Deirdre Campbell is managing director of Canadian-based Beattie Tartan and has been entrenched in the global tourism market for more than 20 years. What began as a west-coast based boutique PR agency called Tartan in 2001, with a handful of Canadian signature experiences quickly expanded internationally, with a range of luxury eco resorts and destinations across North, Central and South America.

Janice Comeau

Treasurer & Secretary

Janice Comeau is a strategic, trusted advisor and corporate director with over 30 years of diverse experience including award-winning CFO performance as a financial leader for business transformation. She has an established consulting practise that provides strategic corporate and financial services to a portfolio of privately held companies. Janice recently joined the board of a public cannabis company and prior to that was the Board Chair of the Land Title and Survey Authority.

Catherine Roome

Vice President, Chair Membership Committee

CATHERINE ROOME is President & Lead Executive Officer of Technical Safety BC which oversees the safe installation and operation of complex technical systems including electrical, gas, elevating and pressure systems across British Columbia. Technical Safety BC also works with industry to reduce safety risks through assessment, education and outreach, enforcement, and research. One of BC’s senior leaders in the engineering and technology sector, Catherine has consistently delivered game-changing strategies that use technology innovation for public good.

Janet Ketchen

Co-Chair Engagement Committee

Janet is a contemporary, abstract, impressionistic artist. An active member of the Federation of Canadian Artists, her work is shown in galleries and private collections in North America and Europe.

Following a lifelong interest in art, Janet answered her visual arts calling after a successful career in finance, having built one of the top wealth management practices at RBC Dominion Securities.

Carol Jones

Member at Large

CAROL JONES is a Principal in the international firm, Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning Ltd. Areas of practice include hospitals, universities, airports, public buildings, mixed use retail developments and corporate facilities. Carol has over 40 years of experience in planning and design, and her interest in design education has been reflected in teaching appointments at two universities. She is a NCIDQ certificate holder, a Certified Facility Manager (CFM), a Registered Interior Designer (RID) in BC and a LEED Accredited Professional.


Pamela Martin

Co-Chair Engagement Committee

Pamela Martin is a trail-blazing and renowned veteran for women in news broadcasting in British Columbia, Canada.  She is an award-winning news anchor and journalist who brought critical issues into the homes of British Columbians for over 30 years, and is recognized as a source of fair and accurate information.

For over two decades at BCTV and CTV, Pamela was an integral member of a team that created and produced the highest-rated and most-watched local newscast in Canada.

Margaret Lucas

Member at Large

MARGARET LUCAS has been an executive leader in the Tourism and Development Industry for over 30 years. She is currently the Executive Director, Business Development for PARC Living.

She currently sits on the Board of Directors for the Greater Victoria Harbour Authority and Chairs the Infrastructure, Planning and Development Committee and the Ogden Point Master Plan Committee.

Joanne Gassman

Member at Large

Joanne Gassman was with BMO Bank of Montreal for more than 39 years, most recently retiring from her position as the Senior Vice President of Personal & Commercial Banking for BC & Yukon Division. 

She is currently a Director on the Streetohome Board, WorkWithUs Foundation, and the Bowen Island Community Foundation.  She is past Chair of the Bill Reid Foundation and the Vancouver Council for CARE Canada and a past Governor of the B.C. Children’s Hospital Foundation.

Mary O’Callaghan

Member at Large, Chair Communications Committee

Mary O’Callaghan provides Advisory Services to clients throughout BC since her retirement as a partner with KPMG’s Management Consulting practice, where she led the People and Change service line in Vancouver for 10 years. Her current practice focuses on strategy, governance, and organization development.  She also works with family businesses as they transition from generation to generation.

Mary is a member of the Board of Directors of the College of Occupational Therapists of British Columbia and is a member of the College’s inquiry committee. She also serves on the Council of Applied Technologists & Technicians of BC.

Cathy Press

Member at Large

CATHY PRESS is CEO of Chinook Helicopters. As the first female helicopter flight instructor in Canada, she is driving the aviation industry forward and has grown Chinook to be an internationally recognized flight school specializing in helicopter and aeroplane pilot training. Cathy’s current focus is on the development of simulation products to assist in high level training programs aiming to become a national leader in VR flight simulation training.